Here is a good example of an unsolicited email that I believe to be decidedly suspicious. Maybe using the words "spam" or "scam" would be inappropriate, but see what you think:
Dear President
We are <company name deleted, on the off-chance they didn't initiate this email>, an Service organization of Internet in China.
On June 07, 2010, we formally received an application from QingMan Investment Co., Ltd. they applied to register the
internet brand ( celerity ) and some in China and Asia's domain name.
During our preliminary investigation, we found that these domain names' brand is fully identical with your trademark.
Therefore, we need to confirm with you, whether you consigned QingMan Investment Co., Ltd. to register these
domain names with us or not? Or, is QingMan Investment Co., Ltd. your business partner or distributor?
If you have no relationship with this company, we assume that they have other purposes to obtain these domain names.
Currently, we have already suspended this company's application temporarily due to the seriousness of this isuue.
In order to avoid the vicious domain name grabbing, please let the relevant person make a confirmation with me via
email as soon as possible. Thank you for your support to our work!
Best Regards!
Amy Hu
Registration Department Manager
<company name deleted>
Tel:+852 3077 4292
Fax:+852 8193 2728
Email:amy@<company name deleted>
Internet:www.<company name deleted>.com
Now, let's take a few moments to consider this mail. On the surface it seems like the company is doing us a rather honourable service, potentially turning away one of their own new clients in case they infringe on our trademarks.
But the language used is rather odd. Accusing their client of "vicious name grabbing" seems a bit emotive to say the least. And why should they care that someone wants to register a Chinese domain that has my company name? That's not illegal, as I certainly haven't applied for any International trademarks.
I suspect what this mail is designed to do is worry companies that they are going to have a Chinese domain name competing with their own brand. Many people will no doubt reply to assure "Amy" that they have no connection to "QingMan Investment co" and please don't let them register our company name! To which they will no doubt receive a reassuring email offering them their pick of Chinese domain names at a "discounted" rate.
Here are a few links to people who share my cynical nature:
http://www.flemo.org/2010/05/21/annie-ling-has-a-thing-for-me/
http://www.kenkai.com/seo-blog-article-142.htm
http://www.kevinham.ws/2010/03/chinese-domain-name-fraud-continues.html
By the way, I've published this email so that people who research the wording of it in future can be reassured that it is indeed a bulk email and almost certainly should be deleted without responding.
Posts: 8
Reply #7 on : Mon June 21, 2010, 15:35:12
Posts: 8
Reply #6 on : Wed June 23, 2010, 07:21:59
Posts: 8
Reply #5 on : Wed June 23, 2010, 07:51:58
Posts: 8
Reply #4 on : Wed June 23, 2010, 17:47:25
Posts: 8
Reply #3 on : Mon June 28, 2010, 14:22:55
Posts: 8
Reply #2 on : Tue June 29, 2010, 14:48:55
Posts: 8
Reply #1 on : Tue August 03, 2010, 13:50:28
Be Social...
Latest Blog Posts
- Highly charged viral Facebook campaign
- Celerity now runs on solar power
- Joomla site management
- Large corporate site build with content population
- Our office now has a wood stove!
- Templating for Mailshots
- Energy usage at Celerity
- Templating work for Contact Lens site
- 3G iPad access in Canada for tourists
- More Facebook prototype tab apps

Posts: 8
Reply #8 on : Thu June 17, 2010, 12:19:44